Your community matters

3 new Creedmoor commissioners sworn in

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


CREEDMOOR — The makeup of the Creedmoor Board of Commissioners was radically altered with the swearing-in of its three new members at a special meeting Wednesday.

The new members, Kechia Brustmeyer-Brown, Georgana Kicinski, and Ed Mims were surrounded by family, friends, and town officials as they joined re-elected Mayor Bobby Wheeler, Commissioner Neena Nowell, and Commissioner Del Mims on the board.

Outgoing commissioners Ernie Anderson and Herman Wilkerson were presented with certificates of appreciation for their many years on the board.

“I’ve enjoyed my time on the board and I’m sorry I couldn’t continue on,” Anderson said.

“Thank you and goodbye,” Wilkerson said before receiving his certificate and a hearty laugh from the audience.

Outgoing commissioner Archer Wilkins was not in attendance due to a scheduling conflict. Wheeler read a written statement from Wilkins saying that he was proud of what the Creedmoor board has accomplished over the past four years and was “equally excited about the makeup of the new board and what I know will lead to greater things over the next four years.”

Also honored was Officer Lauren Guida of the Creedmoor Police Department, who was honored with the Silver Bullet Award by her peers for her various efforts in programs such as Operation Medicine Drop and undertaking equipment calibrations for the departments Portable Breath Test.

Before the transition to the new commissioners, old business addressed included a zoning map amendment for 911 North Durham Ave. The property’s owner, Chad Abbott, petitioned the town to rezone the address from single-family to C-15 Commercial for use as office space. After a brief public hearing in which Abbott spoke to the board expressing his thanks and enthusiasm for reinventing the property, the board unanimously approved the amendment.

The board also approved a three-part ordinance pertaining to town projects such as the US-15 Sidewalk Project and the currently-under-construction community center. State Powell Bill funds equaling $150,000 will be allocated to the Cross City Trail, and $74,854 was approved to fund additional construction costs for the Community Center.

Following the swearing-in of new commissioners and a 10-minute recess, the new board convened to tend to housekeeping matters such as approving the 2020 meeting schedule as well as electing new officers and representatives for matters. Del Mims and Neena Nowell were elected to serve individually as Mayor Pro Tempore for 2020 and 2021 respectively with Mims being sworn in for the 2020 term. They were also recommended to serve as delegates to the Upper Neuse River Basin Association.

Commissioners Kicinski and Ed Mims were elected to serve out the remainder of the terms of former commissioners Wilkerson and Wilkins on the South Granville Water and Sewer Authority Board of Directors.

Brustmeyer-Brown was elected to represent the board on the Kerr-Tar Council of Governments Board of Directors. Nowell and Mayor Wheeler were recommended to serve as delegates to the Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization.

The next meeting of the Creedmoor Board of Commissioners is scheduled for Jan. 7 at Creedmoor City Hall, 111 Masonic St. at 6 p.m.