Your community matters

Early voting in Franklin, Wake starts Wednesday

Municipal election Nov. 5

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


RALEIGH — Voters will begin casting ballots to select mayors, commissioners and other local office holders when early voting opens Wednesday.

The “one-stop” early voting period ends Friday, Nov. 1 for voters in Angier, Apex, Durham, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Knightdale, Morrisville, Rolesville, Wake Forest, Wendell, Zebulon, Bunn, Franklinton, Louisburg and Youngsville. Election Day will be Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Here’s what you’ll need to know to make sure your vote is counted:

When and where?

Early voting schedules are determined by county.

In Wake County, three different early voting locations will be open Oct. 16 through Nov. 1. Voters can go to any location:

• Apex Community Center, 53 Hunter St., Apex — 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. every day.

• Avery Street Recreation Center, 125 Avery St., Garner — 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. every day.

• Wake County Office Building, 337 S. Salisbury St., Raleigh — 8:30 a.m. to 5:15 p.m. Monday-Friday.

Franklin County voters can visit only the Franklin County Board of Elections office, 107 Industrial Drive, Louisburg. It is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday-Friday. There is no weekend early voting in Franklin County.

On election day, voters must go to their assigned precinct.

Voting options

During early voting and on Election Day, some voters can opt to cast their ballots without leaving their cars. Curbside voting is available at all voting site to anyone unable to enter the polling place due to disability or age.

Any registered voter can request an absentee ballot and vote by mail. The deadline to request an absentee ballot is Oct. 29. Visit for instruction on asking for and submitting an absentee ballot.

Absentee ballots must be delivered to the county board of elections by 5 p.m. on Election Day or be postmarked on or before Election Day.

Can I still register?

The last day to register to vote on Election Day was Oct. 11. That was also the deadline to update name, address or party affiliation on your registration before Election Day.

Voters can still register or update their registration if they vote early. The registration will take place at the early voting site immediately before casting a ballot. You will be required to provide proof of address.

Do I need photo ID?

Voters in North Carolina will need to provide photo ID to vote starting in 2020. All elections this year have no photo ID requirement.

Who’s on the ballot?

The Wake Weekly will publish questionnaires from candidates in each of these races in the coming weeks.

• Bunn commissioner (two seats open): Nicole A. Brantley, Mack Jones (incumbent) and Russell Mullen.

• Franklinton mayor: Art Wright (incumbent).

• Franklinton commissioner (two seats open): Anita Fuller (incumbent), Brad Kearney and Mark Lemmon.

• Knightdale mayor: James Roberson (incumbent).

• Knightdale town council (two seats open): Ben McDonald and Stephen Morgan.

• Louisburg town council (three seats open): Sarah Alford, Christopher Neal (incumbent), Mark K. Russell and Emma B. Stewart (incumbent).

• Rolesville mayor: Ronnie Currin is the only name on the ballot. James Bradford is running a write-in campaign.

• Rolesville commissioner (two seats open): Edward Carelli, Steven Dieckhaus, Michelle Medley (incumbent), April Sneed and Sheilah Sutton (incumbent).

• Wake Forest commissioner (three seats open): Greg Bartholomew, Jim Dyer, Heather Loftin Holding, Anne Reeve (incumbent), Chad Sary, Sean Sullivan and Adam B. Wright.

• Wendell mayor: Virginia Gray (incumbent) and Braxton Davis Honeycutt.

• Wendell commissioner (two seats open): Ben Carroll (incumbent) Joe DeLoach and Phillip Tarnaski.

• Youngsville commissioner (two seats open): Ronald Adkins, Scott Brame and Joe Johnson (incumbent).

• Zebulon commissioner (three seats open): Shannon Baxter, Don Bumgarner (incumbent), Sam Hayes, Larry Loucks, Stan R. Nowell, Marilyn Price Wagner and Glenn York.