Your community matters

Franklin County municipal election results

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


Status quo was the theme of the night in the Franklin County 2019 election races. With 100 percent of the pricints reporting, here are the unofficial results:

In the Bunn Board of Commissioners race, incumbent Mack Jones won back his seat alongside Nicole A. Brantley. Jones totaled 53 votes (47.32 percent) and Brantley had 32 votes (28.57 percent). Mullen notched 22 votes (19.64 percent)

Incumbent Franklinton mayor Art Wright, the only candidate on the ballot, retained his seat (149 votes; 89.76 percent).

The Franklinton Board of Commissioners race saw incumbent Anita Fuller retain her seat, but she was not the highest vote-getter (111 votes; 32 percent). That honor went to Brad Kearney (145 votes; 42.03 percent). Mark Lemmon saw his bid end with 84 votes (24.35 percent).

The Louisburg Town Council had two of its incumbents earn the highest number of votes: Christopher Neal earned 329 votes (33.42 percent) and Emma B. Stewart totaled 295 ballots (29.98 percent). Mark K. Russell won the third seat on the board with 245 votes (24.90 percent). Sara Alford rounded out the group with 107 votes (10.87 percent).

In the Youngsville Board of Commissioners race, incumbent Joe Johnson won back his seat with 79 votes (31.23 percent) but the highest vote-getter was Scott Brame (101 votes; 39.92 percent). Ronald Adkins missed out on a seat with 67 votes (26.48 percent).