Your community matters

Here are the 2019 candidates for municipal office

Dozens file in eastern Wake, Franklin counties

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


RALEIGH — Several candidates signed up to run for office on Friday, the last day citizens could file to appear this year's ballots.

The filing period lasted two weeks, and dozens of candidates have registered to run in Franklin and eastern Wake counties. All races are contested with the exception of the mayorships in Knightdale, Franklinton and Rolesville.

Several incumbents in the area are not running for reelection. 

The municipal elections will be Nov. 5.

There are no state or federal races on the ballot this year. All listed seats are in at-large districts and are for a four-year term. These races are nonpartisan.

Here are all candidates who will appear on the ballot:


Commissioner (two seats open): Incumbent Mack Jones and newcomers Nicole A. Brantley and Russell Mullen. Linda L. Pippin is not running for another term.


Mayor: Incumbent Art Wright is running unopposed.

Commissioner (two seats open): Incumbents Anita Fuller and Brad Kearney and newcomer Mark Lemmon.


Mayor: Incumbent James Roberson is running unopposed.

Town Council (two seats open): Newcomers Ben McDonald, Stephen Morgan and Satish Garimella. Pete Mangum and Russell Killen are not running for another term.


Town Council (three seats open): Incumbents Christopher Neal and Emma B. Stewart and newcomer Mark K. Russell and Sarah Alford. Bill Williamson is not running for another term.


Mayor: Commissioner Ronnie Currin is running unopposed. Incumbent Frank Eagles is not running for another term.

Commissioner (two seats open): Incumbents Michelle Medley and Sheilah Sutton and newcomers Edward Carelli, Steven Dieckhaus and April Sneed.

Wake Forest

Commissioner (three seats open): Incumbent Anne Reeve and newcomers Jim Dyer, Heather Loftin Holding, Greg Bartholomew, Chad Sary, Sean Sullivan and Adam B. Wright. Brian Pate and Greg Harrington are not running for another term.


Mayor: Incumbent Virginia Gray and newcomer Braxton Davis Honeycutt.

Commissioner (two seats open): Incumbent Ben Carroll and newcomers Joe DeLoach and Phillip Tarnaski. David Myrick is not running for another term.


Commissioner (two seats open): Incumbent Joe Johnson and newcomers Scott Brame and Ronald Adkins. Graham Stallings is not running for another term.


Commissioner (three seats open): Incumbent Don Bumgarner and newcomers Shannon Baxter, Larry Loucks, Glenn York, Sam Hayes, Stan R. Nowell and Marilyn Price Wagner. R. Dale Beck and Curtis Strickland are not running for another term.