Your community matters

NAC 6 all-conference list released

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


WAKE FOREST — This past weekend, the NAC 6 all-conference list for both boys and girls basketball was made public, with Heritage, Rolesville and Wakefield players highlighting the awards.

For boys basketball, both Lucas Taylor of Heritage and Brandon Johnson of Rolesville were named NAC 6 co-Player of the Year.

Taylor averaged 21.4 points, 5.4 rebounds, 2.4 assists and 1.7 steals per game this season. Johnson averaged 17.6 points, 12.5 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game this year.

Both of their head coaches, Heritage’s Tilden Brill and Rolesville’s Thurman Jordan, were named NAC 6 co-Coach of the Year.

To round up the all-conference list, Heritage produced Redford Dunton and Tre Waller. Rolesville contributed with Darien Long, Donovan Martin and Brandon Williams.

Wakefield’s Vernon Fraley and Harper Strickland were named all-conference. Knightdale’s Rodney Ellis and Quasim Oden also made the all-conference list. Justin Stephens was the lone representative from Corinth Holders.

For girls basketball, Wakefield’s Elise Williams and Knightdale’s Diamond Thomas were named NAC 6 co-Players of the Year.

Williams averaged 19.3 points, 8.2 rebounds, 4.8 assists, 5.4 steals and 1.4 blocks per game. Thomas averaged 22.6 points, 6.1 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 3.2 steals per game.

Wakefield’s Donald Williams won the NAC 6 Coach of the Year for guiding the Wolverines to an undefeated conference championship and a 21-3 overall record.

Wakefield’s Amirah Allen was also named all-conference. Heritage’s Simone Mahoney and Noelle Horton made the all-conference team. Rolesville’s Areina Harris, Alisa Davenport and Kalie Fleming were named all-conference.

Knightdale’s Jaden Davis was named all-conference. Wake Forest’s Amina Miles made the all-conference squad. Deonna Adams rounded up the all-conference list from Corinth Holders.

For all-conference honorable mention, Wake Forest’s Savannah Goodwin and Megan Wimmer, Wakefield’s Kaitlyn Buggs and Jireh Reid, Rolesville’s Kashara Simpson and Heritage’s Anais Jackson and Jada Douthit made the list.