Your community matters

Spring athletes make all-conference list

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


WAKE FOREST — The 2018-19 school year has officially come to a close and the NAC 6 all-conference lists have been released for the spring sports season. Many teams in the conference posted stellar seasons, especially Heritage’s girls soccer team, who won their first 4A state championship.

Starting with the state champs, Heritage’s girls soccer program had eight players make the NAC 6 all-conference team. Hayley Boyles, Olivia Neal, Braelyn Francher, Fain Buete, Nicole Cook, Mackenzie Lipscomb, Keely Bowen and Bri Holt were named all-conference. Boyles won the NAC 6 player of the year award. Heritage head coach Scott Sloan won the NAC 6 co-coach of the year award with Wakefield’s head coach C.J. Komons.

Wakefield had five players make the NAC 6 all-conference squad. Sam Francis, Makaela Stokes, Tareya Stokes, Jeanna Freeman and Kaitlyn Bouck were named all-conference for the Lady Wolverines.

Wake Forest’s Mary Finn, Sam Benson and Olivia Speight were named all-conference. Rolesville’s Alexis Duran and Lily Stafford also cracked the NAC 6 team.

For Corinth Holders, Lindy Morgan, Alyssa Walawender, Kaelin Sanderford and Erin Barefoot made the NAC 6 all-conference team. Knightdale’s Kate Ward was also named all-conference.

In softball, Heritage dominated again with a NAC 6 conference championship and nine players making the all-conference squad. Ashley Gontram, Georgeanna Barefoot, Raygan Rensing, Karlee Harrington, Kennedy Priest, Cydney Johnson, Lindsey Dorn, Ava Imposimato and McKenna Glascok were named all-conference.

Gontram won the NAC 6 co-player of the year award with Wake Forest’s Alyssa Henault. Barefoot won the NAC 6 pitcher of the year. Heritage head coach Jessica Furlough won the NAC 6 coach of the year award.

Including Henault, Wake Forest also had Ramsey Schlafer, JaNesa Robinson, Amber Saunders, Mary Cobb and Alivia Duffy make the NAC 6 all-conference team.

Rolesville’s Nadia Sykes, Kaitlyn Seagraves, Brielle Hill and Aniyah Hates were named all-conference. Sykes won the NAC 6 rookie of the year award.

For Corinth Holders, Brooke Davis, Deonna Adams, Tyra Crough and Savannah Lamm made all-conference. Knightdale’s Dahlia Rabitz, Jaden Davis and Julia Massing were named all-conference.

Gontram, Barefoot, Dorn, Harrington, Johnson, Priest and Rensing were also named all-district for the 4A class. Gontram won the 4A player of the year and Barefoot won the 4A pitcher of the year. Rolesville’s Hill, Seagraves and Sykes also took home all-district honors.

In baseball, Corinth Holders took home the crown of NAC 6 conference champions as well as seven players named all-conference. Landon Ginn, Tanner Smith, Ty Cummings, Nick Tyler, Zane Blinson, Dalton Wood and Tyler Stufano made the NAC 6 all-conference squad. Ginn won the NAC 6 pitcher of the year and Corinth Holers head coach Adam Weaver won the NAC 6 coach of the year.

Wake Forest’s Kahlil Watson, Hogan Stallings, Kyle Wilson and Tommy Reed were named all-conference. Watson also won the NAC 6 player of the year award.

Heritage’s Cole Cunningham, Vito Patierno, Chris Katz and Ryan Walters made the all-conference team. Rolesville’s Michael Gupton, Spencer Faulkner and Tristan Purser were named all-conference. Gupton won the NAC 6 rookie of the year award.

Wakefield’s Jake Dacunto and Isaiah Willett were named all-conference. Knigthdale’s Dominic Jones also made all-conference.

In girls lacrosse, Wake Forest’s Daisy Colvin, Olivia John, Grace Whitcomb, Morgan Probasco and Amelia Lester were named all-conference. Heritage’s Sydney Garff, Brooke Szczypinski, Maggie Clark and Emma Romano made all-conference. Szczypinski was named the NAC 6 rookie of the year.

Wakefield’s Meredith Mann, Brennan Elms and Megan Kephart were named all-conference. Rolesville’s Crystin Williams also made all-conference.