Your community matters

Wake Forest Heritage highlight conference awards

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


WAKE FOREST — Now that fall sports is officially over, the schools have come together to award the best student athletes and coaches for their performances in the NAC 6 conference.

For football, Heritage’s Walker Harris won the NAC 6 conference player of the year. The senior quarterback completed 259 out of 448 passes for 3,304 yards with 35 touchdowns and five interceptions.

Rolesville’s Josh Pullen won the offensive player of the year award. The senior running back carried the ball 221 times for 1,859 yards and 32 touchdowns.

Knightdale’s Aeneas Peebles won defensive player of the year. The senior defensive end led his team with 106 tackles, 15 for a loss and 21 sacks along with two blocked field goals.

Wake Forest’s Austin Riley won special teams player of the year. The senior kicker converted 64 out of 66 extra point attempts and made 12 out of 18 field goals. His longest field goal was 48 yards.

Wake Forest head coach Reggie Lucas won the conference coach of the year award. He led the Cougars to an undefeated NAC 6 conference championship and an overall record of 12-2, taking his team to the 4A east regional finals.

Here is the list for the offensive all-conference players for the NAC 6: Quarterback: Trexler Ivey, Wakefield, Running Back: Chris Moore, Wake Forest; Gio Hines, Corinth Holders, Fullback/Tight End: Elijah Hines, Wake Forest; Kameron Davis, Knightdale, Offensive Linemen: Ryan Moran, Wake Forest; Jonathan Nicotera, Wake Forest; Kadeem Willis, Rolesville; Amari Davis, Knightdale; Josh Fritz, Knightdale; Jeff Palmer, Corinth Holders; Jonathan Adorno, Rolesville, Wide Receiver: Whit Kane, Heritage; Josh Crabtree, Heritage; Broderick Gooch, Heritage; Juwan Bunch, Wakefield, Offense At-Large: Nick Yoon, Wake Forest; Noah Douglas, Wake Forest; Jashawn Patterson, Rolesville; Luke Peters, Knightdale; Lee Hall, Heritage; Jordan Harris, Wakefield; Paul Ward, Wakefield; Byrum Brown, Rolesville.

Here is the list for the defensive all-conference players: Defensive Linemen: Matt Baldwin, Wake Forest; Jacobi Randolph, Wakefield; Ishawn Shoulders II, Knightdale; Zach Boone, Knightdale; Olu Adewami, Rolesville; Corey Peterson, Heritage, Linebacker: Kahlil Watson, Wake Forest; Khalil Denis, Knightdale; Ayden Pearce, Corinth Holders; Darius Robinson, Rolesville; Matthew Smith, Wakefield, Defensive Back: Chance Smith, Wake Forest; Damien Peacock, Wake Forest; Cody Britt, Wake Forest; Marcus Bland, Corinth Holders; Isiah Kozar, Rolesville; Rashawn Jones, Wakefield, Defense At-Large: Dasani Gaddy, Wake Forest; Chris Allen, Wake Forest; Jaelyn Butts, Rolesville; Camar Kyle, Rolesville; Tristen Spencer, Wake Forest; Jaelyn Percell, Knightdale; Max Hardy, Knightdale.

For boys soccer, Heritage’s Landon Sloan won conference player of the year. The senior midfielder scored 11 goals and dished out 12 assists. He also played a significant amount of time as a defender for the Huskies.

Wake Forest head coach Rick Pittarelli won the conference coach of the year award. He led the Cougars to an unprecedented 21-1-2 overall record, an undefeated conference championship and a 4A state championship.

The following players were named all-conference: Wake Forest: Bryan Marshall; Ryan Pitz; Connor Kitson; Jake Smith; Chris Guccio; Abdoulie Sanneh; Chris Steg, Heritage: Josh Bratager; Pablo Rodriguez; Daniel Lugo; Brayden Harper; David Ortiz, Wakefield: John Alexander; Jason Schunk; Bryce Phillips; Prince Linboom, Corinth Holders: Christian Alvarez; Matson Daniels; Tyler Young, Knightdale: Jesus Hernandez; Danny Alvarez, Rolesville: Peyton Pigott; Jose Martinez.

For volleyball, Heritage’s Jessica Connelly won the conference player of the year award. The senior outside hitter recorded 265 kills, 34 aces, 18 blocks, 250 digs and 28 assists.

Wake Forest’s Rachel Stroot and Wakefield’s Bailey Burgess were both named co-offensive player of the year. Jasmine Culp of Corinth Holders, Devin Fowler of Wake Forest and Madison Riley of Heritage were named co-defensive player of the year.

Corinth Holders’ Chiara Bettaglio and Heritage’s Rose Wells were both named co-newcomer player of the year.

Heritage’s Jessica Furlough and Charles Riley of Corinth Holders were both named co-coach of the year.

Here are the following players who were named all-conference: Heritage: Shirita Wells, Allana Riley, Shannon Ullman, Corinth Holders: Madison Adams, Kalyn Rogers, Emily Sharrock, Wake Forest: Kaylee Holland, Natalie Russell, Wakefield: Sarah Wilson, Hannah Schuh, Rolesville: Maya Uzoho.

For boys cross country, Heritage’s Max Geckler was named the conference player of the year. His career best time in the 5K is 16:34.30.

These other runners made all-conference for boys cross country: Corey Little, Rolesville; Nick Hottell, Wake Forest; Jacob Denny, Corinth Holders; Lucas Rorick, Wake Forest; Andrew Mallo, Wake forest; Brandon Lamberti, Wake Forest; Nicholas Frye, Corinth Holders; Carson Wright, Wakefield; Hayes Weatherman, Wake Forest; M.J. Ellis, Wake Forest; Nolan Fortin, Wake Forest; Daniel Bland, Heritage; Anderson Bitzenhofer, Heritage; Glodi Mvovi, Knightdale.

For girls cross country, Wake Forest’s Isabella Frey was named the conference player of the year. Her career best time is 17:45.10.

These other runners made all-conference for girls cross country: Melissa Bourne, Heritage; Olivia Fischlein, Wake Forest; Leah Given, Wake Forest; Danielle Lugo, Wake Forest; Charlotte Wakefield, Heritage; Christina Bourne, Heritage; Kinleigh Erwin, Wakefield; Ainsley Donovan, Heritage; Caroline VanSchaick, Corinth Holders; Kylie Schreiner, Heritage; Bella Schwalm, Heritage; Isabelle Grimm, Corinth Holders; Sophia Patton, Corinth Holders; Francela Mejias-Solano, Rolesville.

For girls golf, Wakefield’s Lotte Fox was named the conference player of the year. The senior averaged an individual score of 37.67.

These other following girls made the all-conference list: Mary-Sears Brown, Heritage; Heather Appelson, Heritage; Catherine Vivongsy, Wake Forest; Mary K. Hederick, Wake Forest; Terra Schmitt, Wakefield; Sadler Miller, Corinth Holders; Becky Murray, Corinth Holders; Vivian Shillingsburg, Heritage; Morgan McPhatter, Wake Forest; Parker Bowman, Wake Forest.