Your community matters

Wake Forest student takes part in pinning ceremony

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


SANFORD — The Central Carolina Community College Dr. Antonio Braithwaite School of Dental Hygiene held its 2019 Pinning Ceremony on May 7 at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic & Conference Center in Sanford.

Brittany Teague of Wake Forest was one of the graduating students.

Vicky Wesner, CCCC department chair of dental Programs, welcomed those attending the ceremony. She also introduced the Sigma Phi Delta Dental Hygiene Honor Society.

Class president Alex Blanco, class vice president Brittney Teague, and class historian Amanda Carr gave opening remarks. Katherine Allen was student class speaker.

Danielle Bruner, CCCC dental hygiene clinical coordinator/instructor, presented special awards and offered words of encouragement.

Lisa Godfrey, Dean of Health Sciences and Human Services, presented a new award/scholarship sponsored by Dr. Antonio Braithwaite — the Sanford Pediatric Dentistry Lisa Baker Dental Hygiene Excellence Award, which was presented to Caitlyn Driver along with a $1,250 stipend to cover the cost of the ADEX Dental Hygiene Licensure Exam.

Introduction of graduates was by Vicky Wesner and Danielle Bruner.

Andrea Faust led the graduates in the recitation of the dental hygienist’s pledge.

Amber Crotts led the invocation and benediction.

Graduating students are Teague, Katherine Allen (Fuquay-Varina), Julia Andersen (Fuquay-Varina), Mary Baron (Raleigh), Alexander Blanco (Fuquay-Varina), Amanda Carr (Raleigh), Denise Carrillo (Siler City), Amber Crotts (Pittsboro), Ashley Davis (Bennett), Caitlyn Driver (Whispering Pines), Tiffany Hicks (Carthage), Shayna King (Sanford), Lindsey Maness (Siler City), Allison Martindale (Archdale), Lauren Petty (Apex), Taylor Ridall (Carthage), Brittany Spruill (Walkertown), and Samantha Vann (Dunn).